England Boxing Annual Awards 2023: full list of winners from groundbreaking evening

July 17, 2023 | by Chris Boyd


England Boxing held the inaugural Annual Awards Ceremony 2023 last Thursday (13th July), crowning 10 winners in a wonderful celebration of amateur boxing and its heroes.

The ceremony was held at the Crowne Plaza Royal Victoria Hotel in Sheffield and celebrated the stellar work performed by individuals and clubs who continue to inspire and transform lives through boxing.

Over 100 guests attended the ceremony, consisting of nominees, their guests, and England Boxing committee members, stakeholders, and partners.

They were joined by special guests Roy Hilton, who won the England Boxing National Amateur Championships 50 years ago representing Repton, four-time National Amateur Champion Kelly Oliver (Bracebridge ABC) and Apprentice winner Marnie Swindells – all of whom presented an award, with categories sponsored by JC Trophies, Unibox Boxing Rings and 4 Global.

England Boxing’s Chairman Richard Brooke opened the proceedings with a speech before Chester, a well-known MC from the England Boxing Championships circuit, hosted the awards.

The highlight of the evening was saved for the last award, with Lifetime Achievement winner Norman Close, who first stepped foot into a boxing gym in 1945, receiving a standing ovation from all in attendance before giving an uplifting speech.

Winners were presented with a glass award and a card, while all runners-up received a gift.

England Boxing’s Competitions and Events Manager, Ash Cooke, said: “The inaugural Annual Awards evening was a fantastic occasion – celebrating and showcasing the stellar achievements and contributions of individuals, clubs, and organisations to amateur boxing.

“Seeing and hearing the stories of England Boxing’s clubs, coaches, officials, and volunteers really puts the hard work and dedication of our members into perspective.

“Amateur boxing is extremely lucky to have such committed individuals promoting and developing the sport and we can’t thank those people enough.

“Hopefully this will be the first step in building a yearly event to recognise, reward and give back to our valued members, partners and sponsors.”

Winners in full:

Individual Member Impact Award sponsored by JC TrophiesRitchie Fox (Ashfield Spartans, formerly Mansfield Boxing Academy)

Community Club Impact Award sponsored by JC TrophiesHailsham Boxing Club

Female Official of the Year sponsored by JC TrophiesTerri Kelly (Haringey Boxing Club)

Male Official of the Year sponsored by JC TrophiesKeith Mills (Dagenham Boxing Club)

Young Volunteer of the Year sponsored by JC Trophies James Curtis (Solihull Community Boxing Club)

Volunteer of the Year sponsored by JC TrophiesSean Bush (Downend Boxing Club)

Young Coach of the Year sponsored by Unibox Boxing Rings Harley Pullen (Future Boxing Academy)

Female Coach of the Year sponsored by JC TrophiesGeorgia Keast (Tamworth Boxing Club)

Male Coach of the Year sponsored by JC Trophies Larry Mills (Crewkerne Boxing Club)

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by 4 Global Norman Close (Grainger Park)

You can learn more about each nominee and winner by clicking on the categories above.

Members can download images from the event by clicking here.

Click here to view Annual Awards video content on the England Boxing YouTube channel.