TTW Golden Girls shine on Hull Box Cup return

July 6, 2022 | by Matt Halfpenny


The Hull Box Cup made its welcome return for the first time since 2019 with a keenly-contested event at the University of Hull Sports and Fitness Centre.

Established in 2015, the Hull Box Cup is the biggest Olympic-style tournament in England for Minors, Schools, Junior, Youth and Senior levels, with 320 boxers from 92 clubs boxing in three rings over three days of non-stop action..

Tyne Tees and Wear Golden Girls emerged as the best team with six gold and five silver medals, while Warwickshire’s Bulkington Boxing Club were the best club with five golds and five silvers.

Wearside club District Youth finished third on the leaderboard, with Lewis Robinson beating Tommy Naysmith (York BC) on a split decision after a bruising battle in the Male Youth Under 75kg final to win his third consecutive Hull Box Cup gold.

Robinson has boxed for District Youth since he was nine years old. Now 18, he has had 34 bouts, winning 21.

Another club who enjoyed a successful weekend was St Ives, with Megan Morris impressing in a great final against Frankie Lyall (RAF) to win the Female Senior Under 57kg gold.

“Her opponent is a southpaw so we knew it would be a tricky test”, said St Ives head coach Steve Whitwell. “But I told Meg if she stayed patient she’d get on top in the second and third rounds, and that’s exactly what happened.”

Border City’s John Joe Carrigan caught the eye winning the Junior (2007) Under 75kg title. Oozing confidence, Carrigan took on Marble City’s Finn Cantwell and outclassed his opponent from the first bell.

With a low guard and slick footwork Carrigan had Cantwell chasing shadows in a one-sided first round, and the referee had seen enough midway through the second round after giving Cantwell a second standing count.

Harry Avis (Training Cave) won Male Youth gold at Under 71kg with a first-round stoppage over Zaid Manair, while Blaine Lambert (RAF) bolstered his growing reputation by winning the Male Senior Under 63.5kg title, with the judges awarding him a unanimous decision against Mahbub Miah (Hamer ABC).

Report supplied by Daniel Edwards