Shortlists announced for England Boxing Annual Awards 2023

May 3, 2023 | by Matt Halfpenny


The shortlisted top three in each category for the England Boxing Annual Awards 2023 can now be confirmed.

The awards are designed to recognise the stellar achievements and contributions of individuals, clubs and organisations to amateur boxing, particularly in the community.

More than 500 nominations were received from affiliated members across the 10 categories ahead of the closing date midway through March.

Those nominations were then assessed by a five-strong panel made up of members of various England Boxing sub-committees (but not board members).

Overall winners in each category will be announced at the prestigious presentation evening, which will be held at the Royal Victoria Hotel in Sheffield on Thursday 13th July from 7pm to 11pm.

All those shortlisted are being contacted and invited to the presentation event, along with a plus-one, with extra places available to purchase should more guests be required.

“We would like to congratulate all those people and clubs who have been shortlisted, which is testament to the hard work and endeavour they put in week in, week out,” said Membership Services Manager Lynette Mayo, who is organising the event.

“It will be fantastic to welcome them to the awards’ presentation evening, where they will have the chance to meet others who are also doing tremendous work in their community.

“In many of the categories, it was extremely hard for the panel to narrow down the nominees to a final three, so high were the standards set, which again underlines just how many amazing people we have in amateur boxing.”

Should you have a query regarding the awards, please email

England Boxing Annual Awards 2023 – shortlisted nominees

All nominees are listed in alphabetical order (by surname for individual nominees).

Female Coach of the Year

Lindsay Jarratt – Telford ABC
Georgia Keast – Tamworth Boxing
Jayne Wallace – Billingham Boxing Club.

Male Coach of the Year

Jimmy Brennan – Carlisle Villa
Dan Hopper – North Star ABC
Larry Mills – Crewkerne Boxing Club.

Young Coach of the Year

Gary Johnstone – Carlisle Villa
Harley Pullen – The Future Boxing Academy
Sophie Sansam – Tommy Coyle BC.

Young Official of the Year (only two nominees shortlisted)

James Curtis – Solihull Community Boxing
Reiss Davies – Tamworth Boxing.

Female Official of the Year

Louise Gibbs – England Boxing Officials
Terri Kelly – Haringey BC
Chantelle Trumpet – Jimmy Egan’s BA.

Male Official of the Year

Keith Mills – Dagenham Police Community Club
Paul Rosendale – Derby City Boxing Club
Tony Tobin – Wednesbury ABC.

Volunteer of the Year

Sean Bush – Downend BC
Julie Lockley – Brightstar BA
Chris Slatcher – Leicester Lightning ABC.

Community Club Impact

Brentwood Central
Ten Count.

Individual Member Impact

Mohammed Abdullah – Windmill ABC
Taylor Bennett – East Middlesbrough ABC
Ritchie Fox – Mansfield BA (now Ashfield Spartans).

Lifetime Achievement

Norman Close – Grainger Park
Paddy Harmey – Crawley ABC
Mick Taylor – Cambridgeshire Police BC.